Gone fishin’…..Sorta.

I’m waving my “I’m Canadian so I don’t hate winter” flag. ENOUGH.

But hey, or rather “eh”, since I am Canadian, and I want spring, maple is on my mind.  Spotting one last piece of salmon in the freezer, I scrapped my plan for tea-smoked salmon and try a whiskey-maple marinade.  Please note this was no grocery-store salmon….it was caught by my “boys” at Bones Bay Lodge in Knight’s Inlet British Columbia.  If you want a FABULOUS fishing experience, give them a call. Back to the recipe…..As if the whiskey wasn’t woody enough, I decided to put it on a cedar plank on the grill.  But alas, I was out of planks. All I found was a package of cedar wrappers that I thought were too silly to work. Surprise – they worked, were super easy to deal with, and will be starring at many of my summer dinner parties!

Here’s the recipe (exact measures are not necessary)…

1 cup whisky

½ cup maple syrup

1/3 cup soy sauce

splash of Olive oil

a handful of chopped parsley

3 tbs. Asian sweet or regular chili sauce

freshly ground pepper

Salmon – I used 8 fillets and had a lot of marinade left over

Marinate the fish for about 30 minutes.

Soak the cedar wrapping sheets for 10 minutes.

Remove the fish from marinade (discard marinade please). Wrap the fillets in the cedar papers.

Preheat grill to HOT. Turn down the grill on the side you are using to low (or off). Grill for 8 – 10 minutes.  Unwrap and serve.

ENJOY!

ready to go

ready to go

This is looking promising

This is looking promising

YUM!

YUM!

