Cook a Roast Beef for 25 minutes? Really??

I admit it. Sometimes I have to try things just to see if they work. Sometimes, they are failures. Like overnight oatmeal in a slow cooker (ick). But sometimes,  weird sounding recipes work.

I make a rib roast once every few years, and this was the week.   I remember someone once saying they put the roast into a hot oven, turned the oven off, and 2 hours later …perfection.  Well folks, that is almost how it works, and yes, it is pretty incredible.

Here’s how I did it:

1 beef rib roast, (mine was approximately 5 pounds)

1-2 tablespoons Montreal steak spice, OR coarse salt and crushed peppercorns

a few sprigs of rosemary

a few cloves garlic, peeled and minced

Remove roast from refrigerator.

Let it stand on counter for 30 – 60 minutes.

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Dry the roast as well as you can.

Put garlic under strings, into whatever visible fat you can find, or into slits in the meat (preferably not on the ends).

Rub on steak spice, avoiding the ends.

Put rosemary through strings

Place beef in a roasting pan or cast-iron skillet, fat-side up, (bones down) and put in oven.

Cook undisturbed for 5 minutes per pound. (I really only cooked mine for 25 minutes!)

Turn off oven. Do not open oven door.  It is tortuous, and you will want to open it, but resist!

Leave roast to continue cooking, undisturbed, for two hours.

Seriously.

Seriously.

You will notice that no juice leaks onto your board when you slice the roast – it is all in the meat.  You also avoid the ugly grey ring around the edge.  Really, it works. Try it.

10 comments

  1. Hi, I read this post on Jen’s bitemyblog.com. You remind me that an aunt of mine uses a similar technique for cooking potatoes in the summer when she doesn’t want too much heat in the kitchen, or when she is going to be short on burners on her stove top. You bring the potatoes to the boil then turn them off and leave them to finish. Takes an hour or so I think.

    I often do something similar, in that I will par cook my spuds and then switch them off while I’m getting the rest of dinner ready. You can check them about 5 minutes before I’m going to serve in case they need a little more heat, but usually it’s fine.

Comments are closed.