It is THAT easy

After reading a post about Il Buco Alimentari’s easy way of making homemade ricotta, the kit for cheese-making I saw on the shelf at Willams Sonoma practically put itself into my cart.  Stupid price aside, it seemed an easy way to start. Citric acid, rennet, instructions for ricotta and mozarella…ok, let’s do it.  Or rather, let’s consider doing it, chicken out for a few months, finally buy 4 litres of whole milk, and… Make cheese!

All it takes

All it takes

The whole experiment took 20 minutes and a pot.

at the right temperature, the curds and whey separate!

at the right temperature, the curds and whey separate!

almost there....

almost there….

let it sit for a bit

let it sit for a bit

My first mozarella was…..delicious, and so easy that I am now hooked!

flip it on a plate, and dig in!

flip it on a plate, and dig in!

My next mozarella will have some goodies inside. I’m thinking a few chopped olives, sundried tomatoes and basil.  I will keep you all posted!

Making ricotta was so easy that it didn’t even merit a photo.  If you even LIKE regular ricotta, you will love eating it fresh, at home.

