Around the World (almost) in 80 Days

I have slacked in my posting because I have been traveling like a freak.

Dublin:

Best food is good pub food. Best pub food is at The Black Sheep. Best pub is known as the Gravedigger’s.  Its official name is John Kavanagh’s.  It is worth the taxi, and I won’t say any more. Just go. Best whiskey: Yellow Spot (I know, the name is very, very, silly).

London:

Things I never imagined saying:

  1. Food in London is amazing.
  2. Forget the rest of the list. Did you read #1?

Ottolenghi alone is reason to visit my new “one of my favourite cities” city.

Who could resist salads that are the perfect balance of fresh and satisfying, and fresh, delicious baked goods? I have never managed to taste a main dish at the Ottolengi stores, since I cannot resist the veggies and desserts, but they look yummy.

IMG_0745

IMG_0928

Lunch at Nopi turned into an all-afternoon affair, followed by a nap. It just doesn’t get better than that!

Oh, where do I start?

Sumac Martini, Rooibos Old Fashioned…how can anything be bad?

Twice cooked chicken with lemon myrtle salt, chili sauce

Twice cooked chicken with lemon myrtle salt, chili sauce

Burrata, Miyagawa, fennel and coriander seeds

Burrata, Miyagawa, fennel and coriander seeds

Sticky rice, brown coconut jam, carmelized banana

Sticky rice, brown coconut jam, carmelized banana

Haute Indian at Amaya was delicious, but the service was…weird. Go, but wear clothes you don’t mind getting smelly, and ignore the cold wait-staff.

I never knew Chinese food could be as delicate and perfect as it is, table after table, at Hakkasan. Go – you will be happy. Make sure to have the tofu with crunchy bits – I can’t remember exactly what it is called, but it is a favourite there.

IMG_1092

The Clove Club was a great find in Shoreditch, the best area for street art in the city.  A fried chicken amuse-bouche was nestled on fir branches, dusted with ground fir… yummy. Inventive and delicious. They have a great collection of cookbooks, and for sure they use Tartine – the bread was perfect.

IMG_0944 IMG_0945 IMG_0952 IMG_0955

Tel Aviv:

Young and fun staff, fresh flavours, great wines at HaShulchan (The Table). Be sure to order a bottle of Sphera wine – it is really surprising.

Zepra and Messa are both delicious, but expensive (as in, really). The people watching is also excellent.

Durham, North Carolina:

The Q Shack may make the best barbeque sauce I have ever tasted. Ditto the baked beans, and mac and cheese.  Everything, actually.

Back home, we finally tried Dinette Triple Crown. What a concept!  The 7 seats at the counter are ok, but the fun thing to do is get a picnic basket (complete with table cloth and lantern at night), and (weather permitting) sit in the park across the street.  I am still drooling thinking of the brisket sandwich. The big nasty is…oh, try it. They do baskets for pickup all winter…and they deliver!

IMG_1212

One comment

  1. We also went to Ottolenghi’s restaurant on our trip to London. Probably the best restaurant meal of our six week trip. I’m also intrigued by the chicken on fir!

Comments are closed.